What to Read Next? Reading Recommendation Platforms

22 Dec

bless my sponge bathThe good folks at goodreads.com sent me a not-so-good year-in-review email this week. They congratulated me on reading seven books in 2013. I’m not sure why, but they have it wrong. I read 31.

I looked up my actual number in the good-old-fashioned-analog book journal I have been keeping for about four years now. And, like every year, these books have varied in topic, genre, and style…to a degree. I typically read a smattering of non-fiction and poetry; try on the most recent Pulitzer and a few other major works of fiction; and wash this down with a healthy chug of fantasy/sci-fi.

Increasingly, I am drawn to piles and piles of YA. Technically, I need to read this writing for my job. I take pride in staying up-to-date on recommendations for the young adults I teach. But, I will also admit that I love the stuff. I take no shame, ladies and gentleman, in sharing similar tastes with thirteen-year-old girls. OK. I feel some shame when writing that line. Amendment: I take no shame in sharing similar tastes with bookish thirteen-year-old girls who know Twilight is rubbish and turn away in a huff from any book with glitter on its cover.

Of course, not everyone shares my reading tastes, and isn’t that a wonderful thing? There are plenty of books for every reader out there. In the classroom, I—like you—give students recommendations, and they—like yours—regularly suggest titles to one another. However, I also use some online resources to help students find books they want to read next:


Use the sliders and categories to set your tastes. Based on your responses, you receive suggestions and descriptions. My students and I always find new and surprising titles here.

Booklamp.org (the Book Genome Project)

Use the “DNA” of your favorite books to discover other titles you will enjoy. This site offers another way to offer targeted suggestions based on previous reading habits. I always discover something new and interesting when using this site.

YALSA’s Teen’s Top Ten: 2013

Teen readers nominate and vote on this list…an excellent yearly source for books that will appeal to upper school readers.


A very straightforward website…type in the title of a book you’ve enjoyed and receive loads of suggestions for related titles you might like. It’s simple and effective. The lists of top searches also yield promising titles.

Good Reads

I use Good Reads to “backup” the analog book journal I keep, and my book loving students friend me here. The Good Reads community is very active, and the Listopia section of the site offers fantastic suggestions. My students that use Good Reads get many of their “to read” suggestions from other users on this site.

Digitalbookworld.com Top 10 Reading Recommendation Platforms

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Explore with Curiosity. Create with Love


The Most Influential Blog on Education in the UK

Robin Neal

a teacher energized by innovation and collaboration

Popsicles for Dinner

The adventures of Liza and Felix


A year long quest of doing stuff...

Lehrer Werkstatt

Reflections on Living and Teaching in Germany

Student Observation

every day observations from a student's perspective

Empathic Teacher

The Mindful High School Classroom

Expat Educator

Leadership and Educational Practice from Around the World

Ideas Out There


So, will this be graded?

Stories from a middle school English teacher turned high school English teacher.

History Tech

History, technology, and probably some other stuff

I'm Teaching English

And trying to get better each day. Thanks for your comments!


Life's lessons learned from students at school...

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.


the subjective perspective of an analytical optimist

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

%d bloggers like this: